The Tip of the Iceberg

We have all heard the old saying “What you see is what you get.” And in many cases that is true. But it is not true with Parkinson’s Disease. You may think this is a disease where the patient shakes all the time. That’s what I always thought. And on the surface, that may be all that is evidenced. But as caregivers, we know that there is much more to this degenerative disease.

The Iceberg Principle or Iceberg Theory is a theory that suggests that we cannot see or detect most of a situation’s data.

The outward manifestations are just the tip of the iceberg. They are the part above the water line – the visible parts of the disease. Many times, the effects of the disease that you DON’T see are much more debilitating than those that you DO see.

iceberg

Recently I found a list of problems that can arise from having Parkinson’s Disease. Some of these are mere inconveniences, and others can cause our patients to be homebound or confined. Many are conditions we speak of only in private, so no one outside our family ever knows.

Here is a partial list:

Depression

Dementia

Delusions

Hallucinations

Obsessive behavior

Vivid dreams

Insomnia

Bladder disturbances

Sexual dysfunction

Orthostatic hypotension

Saliva problems – too much or too little

Reflux

Nausea

Constipation

Smell and taste – changes or sudden lack of them

Blurred vision

Weight loss or gain

Seborrhea

Most PD patients don’t have ALL of those symptoms, especially at the same time. Movement disorders – shaking, shuffling, inability to move on demand – those are the symptoms we think of with Parkinson’s. But this list of “unseen” symptoms tells the rest of the story. The same thing is true of many other diseases.

The next time I see a PD patient or someone with any chronic disease, I need to remember that there is more to their disease than what I can see.

As I thought of the iceberg principle this week, I thought of people in general. What we see exhibited in public, is not all of who they are. There is more to everyone’s story. There is more to MY story. I am not just a caregiver. There is more to YOUR story. You are not JUST a caregiver.

Knowing this about others and ourselves may cause us to be more compassionate toward others. Each of us has likely encountered a stranger who seemed to be very upset without cause. When we realize that there is more to their story than what we see, perhaps we will treat them with more grace. After all, when we need it, we hope they treat us the same – with more grace.

Thank you for reading and commenting.

You continue to encourage me as I hope I encourage you.

Published by parkinsonscare

I'm a retired mathematics teacher, mother, and grandmother. I cared for my husband for 23 years, and now he is in Heaven. My new mission in life is to support and encourage caregivers like you!

8 thoughts on “The Tip of the Iceberg

  1. What a great analogy. The ice burg really sums it up. As you said everyone has an ice burg and we don’t know what is below the surface. Thank you for all your wonderful words. They always hit home.
    hugs to you and Carlton

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so very helpful, Cheryl. A dear friend down the hall from me has PD and she is on my mind and heart daily as are you and Carlton as you ‘walk the walk’. I certainly did not
    know these ‘hidden’ symptoms you outline: such extreme challenges to deal with! God bless
    you in your loving 24/7 TLC, special friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dearest Mary, I don’t ever want to burden you with all the specifics, so I don’t often mention them. I believe everyone has hidden challenges – just like the iceberg. Showing God’s love to all is what I am learning in all of this, as I do by watching you. Have a great week ahead.

      Like

  3. Friday Nov.1 there is a Parkinson’s event at Flat Creek Country Club that is going to address some of the unseen issues of Parkinson’s. My daughters are going with us so they will have a better idea of what their dad is going through. Jim and I are hoping to learn more ourselves.
    I have been missing you. I hope you will be at the next caregiver meeting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment